I’m Glad Someone Said Something About NYMag piece!

I am SO glad someone other than skating forums and Blogs and Johnny Weir’s fans is addressing this article! And in a reputable source like the New York Daily News on top of it!  You tell them Johnny and Patti Weir!  We love you both!

About halfway down the page on this New York Daily News gossip page you will find this three paragraph item:

++++++++

Johnny Weir can take a few insults, but don’t upset his mom. The Olympic skater tells us he wasn’t thrilled with how New York Magazine portrayed him in its current issue, but what really cheeses him off is that his mother "was offended" by the feature.

"She said it seemed I wasn’t serious and I was just another New York-area person just going to parties," Weir says, before explaining: "Yes, I was getting ready for red-carpet events, but I was going to them to work and network." Weir also grouses that the feature "attacked my people. … I can be told to be subjected to a gender test, I can have my clothes attacked, but when you attack my people, my army, that’s when I get pissed off!"

A spokeswoman for New York magazine responds: "We love Johnny Weir – as Amy [Larocca] writes in the piece, he’s ‘talented and clever and beautiful,’ and we think that comes through in the profile and photos."

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/gossip/2010/08/19/2010-08-19_cops_pull_guns_on_piranha_3d_stars_kelly_brook_jessica_szohr_en_route_to_las_veg.html#ixzz0x2s2X05q

++++++++

Obviously they have not read their own piece, because though it’s true that Johnny Weir IS talented, clever and beautiful, the piece as written does not portray that very well at all.  My friend Misfit Mimes did a wonderful job of describing what was wrong with this article in her brilliant Blogs Guuuuuurrrrrrlll and #YoureACar.

Leave a Reply

